Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,851 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm on a roll with new posts, so humor an old man........

I just had some work done to my main Marshall head: it's a 1990 JCM900 Dual-Reverb 4500 model and I've always liked them over the older 800's because of TWO real channels ( and of course, verb).

I was telling Dankynugs recently that I changed out the pre-amp tubes to original, real NOS Mullard 12AX7 tubes. These are expensive, rare and sought after. If you happen to see them for sale and they are real -BUY THEM.
Definitely the single biggest change you can make to your amp.

THEN...I took a deep breath and had a Mercury Transformer kit put in.
I spoke with many techs and asked lots of questions because I've never done that mod before- and HOLY COW does it make a difference. Even a 2-year old kid will notice the difference- it's not a subtle change. More SAG, more power & crunch- and now you really hear finger and string definition.

Anyway - thought I'd share:^)
-jemaholic

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
Yeah, been scouring for a Mullard or two, lately. Keep getting outbid. From all that I've read and been told, they are the Holy Grail of tubes. Congrats on the mods!

·
Registered
152 Posts
anyone have any experience modding a tsl100 parallel fx loop?? its never 100% wet kinda annoying

wana get a series loop in there

·
Registered
359 Posts
I have the model 4100 JCM900 and the last time I had it re-tubed/biased I used sovteks and I liked them better than stock. Where can I get more info on this mercury transformer kit?

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
now, anyone know any mods for the MG100 HDFX?

i kid... i kid...