Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

I hope this is the right place to post this.

I'm a bedroom guitarist with no aspirations of forming a band or performing on stage. I just enjoy playing my guitar and learning songs and styles.

I've noticed recently that the more I play the more extreme my musical tastes have become. One minute I'm playing the Beatles and the next Dimmu Borgir and everything in between.

So with that range I've decided to get a multi effects unit and have set myself a price limit of £150.

I've done a bit of research and have found these units within my price range:

Boss ME-25, Digitech RP355, Vox Tonelab ST, Zoom G2.1nu, Zoom G3X

I mainly play metal of one form or another from Iron Maiden to Melodic Death metal and need a unit that can emulate all the tones within these genre's so a good patch database would be welcome.

At the top right now is the Zoom G2.1nu mainly as there are Michael Amott & Dave Mustaine units and their patches are freely available for the standard unit.

Other than that I don't know much about these units, I've read reviews but I don't know all the jargon.

Can anyone recommend a unit?

Many Thanks.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Hey,

let me tell you never to buy a digitech or a zoom!!! I've owned many different multi effect units and these both were the worst!

I would try the Boss.

Have you ever thought about a Line 6? Quality and price is very good on line 6 units!!!!!

greetings dani

·
Banned
5,010 Posts
Run away from pods, their distortion is crap and you'll sound the same like a thousand out there cause no matter what you do a pod always sound like a pod.
Boss gt10 has awesome amps, TO ME it's the multi effects that has the best amp simulator so far plus it has almost all boss pedals and it's extremelly easy to use.

·
Registered
65 Posts