Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, newbie here about to pull the trigger on my first Ibanez.

I'm a frustrated left handed player, thwarted by restricted choice within the guitar industry and after year of playing various guitars that have left me underwhelmed or unsatisfied, I'm now in the position to buy a high end guitar and feel the Ibanez RG is the one for me, but I'm REALLY torn between these two and could do with some advice, experience and input.

Keep in mind, I'm a lefty, so these are the only real options available to me, so no point making other suggestions, it's down to these two.

Option 1:

RG5320 Prestige in Cosmic Shadow

Guitar String instrument accessory Musical instrument Guitar accessory Musical instrument accessory
or

Option 2:

RG 8670Z J.Custom in BSR finish

Guitar Musical instrument String instrument accessory Musical instrument accessory Guitar accessory

I know there's a big price difference, but that is not a factor in my decision so happy to ignore price and base my decision on merit alone.

Absolutely the biggest thing that has made me hesitate on the J.Custom is the lack of stainless steel frets which come on the Prestige. I just cannot fathom why this is the case. Maybe I'm over thinking it, maybe they're not essential, maybe we coped for years without them etc, etc..... but why, if the Prestige comes with them and the J.Custom is supposed to be the best of everything no compromise guitar do they not include them. It's just bugging me,.

I've also heard from a tech that the edge zero on the J.Custom is not as robust as the regular Edge on the Prestige, although I like the added functionality of the Zero from a stability / adjustability perspective.

All my instincts tell me to get the J.Custom, yet the Prestige is sitting there with its stainless frets telling me it's all the guitar I'll ever need..... etc etc.