Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
(FIXED)Problem with my Bugera V5

I'm pretty sure this is just an issue with the tubes, but I'm no expert so I'd like to get some advice. I've had the amp for 2-3 weeks now and ever since I got it there was this glassy rattling noise when I'd play. It wasn't a big deal but as time went on it got worse and now when I hit certain notes it starts this crazy feedback with all sorts of wonderous popping and scratchy noises.

Anyways I made a short video demonstrating the problem but let me know if this is just a simple tube-replacement issue or if I need to have the amp itself fixed. Also, if you have any tube upgrade recommendations I'd love to hear it!

Current stock tubes are an EL84 for the power tube, and a 12AX7A for the preamp.

EDIT 02/03 : EuroTubes tube dampeners fixed everything :D.

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
While i don't own the amp, that sounds like a faulty preamp tube issue. You may wanna make sure they are in there tight or that the connector pins are tight too.

Since I don't know the amp's "character" and what your looking for out of the amp, It's harder for me to make a recommendation, but the Tungsol reissues are a great tube if the factory one is faulty.

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
While i don't own the amp, that sounds like a faulty preamp tube issue. You may wanna make sure they are in there tight or that the connector pins are tight too.

Since I don't know the amp's "character" and what your looking for out of the amp, It's harder for me to make a recommendation, but the Tungsol reissues are a great tube if the factory one is faulty.