Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gday all!

I'm Tom. (and im a newbie :) ) lol anywayi've played guitar for about 4 years now maybe? not quite sure.. but i love it, and i've always loved the thought of acually making my own gutiar. Grade 12 this year (kinda scary) and well for one of my classes (tec studies -woodwork kinda thing with alot of designing) we were told we had the first half of the year to make whatever we wanted! only catch was we had to supply all the materials.. lol but i decided to make myself a guitar :)

I spent ages looking around on the net at different guitars and parts and designs and even trying to draw my own (but mine didnt quite work lol) anyway in the end i ended up deciding to make a jem... for a while. THEN i decided that i've only seen 1000 jems on the net.. so i though to myself.. hmm TELEJEM ! spontanious idea and i decided to go with it :D always loved t*l*casters... they just look kinda cool.. and with the awesomeness of the Jem its gota be like pure awesomeness yeah? haha well thats my thinking anyway...

Soo step one.. wood! had a look around for a while found a nice piece of Queensland maple for only $175 from australian luthier supplyes. Great service, only 2 days delivery! which i spose, i do live in queensland, but i was still happy.

Next step was the plans. One of my dads mates from work helped get me this printed on a niice big sheet of A1 :)

Soo with the help of my handy dandy school gluestick (stolen from my brother) i got the plans glue on and it suprisingly holds it down quite well!

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
CONTINUING... (only 7 pics per post... i had 3? hmm lol)

anyway at school the next day i started cutting! i used the schools bandsaw, which was intresting with such a blunt blade.. but with a bit of sanding it didnt turn out to bad at all. (notice my little design alter ;) )