Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this has been covered before, but I would like some opinions. I'll be getting my tax returns soon, so I plan on buying a harmonizer. I tried the boss and digitech pedals, and they sounded like pure garbage. So, it has come down to a Lexicon mpx unit, a G major, a Digitech dhp55, or an Alesis. I am totally new to this kind of thing, and the accuracy and speed of the harmonies are very important to me because I will mostly be using it for solos. I hated the boss and digitech pedals mostly because of how false they sounded, and how it essentially constrained me to only playing within the major scale. I use a lot of diminished and harmonic minor scales, so a smart harmonizer is essential. Unfortunately, I can't afford an Eventide. Does anyone have any reccomendations for me?

·
Registered
2,234 Posts
I wasn't aware the MPX line had intelligent Harmonizing - my MPX500 doesn't, but maybe the newer ones do.

Other options are the Boss VF-1 (a half rack multi effect box). Not the greatest harmonizer, but if you want a LOT of flexibility, a great box - they never shoulda stopped making this one.

And the new Zoom G2 cheapo multi effects. The harmonizer is no worse than the Boss, but the other effects aren't as good (and it's nowhere near as flexible). But it's $100 new.

But besides Eventide, those old Digitechs are still the best for pure intelligent harmonizing (largely because you can track from a separate signal from your actual sound). Other ones to consider are the IPS33B and DHP33 (same machine, and same quality as the DHP55, but fewer harmonies) and the Studio 5000 (same box as the DHP55).

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Another question; even if I got an Eventide, would I have to play everything diatonically? For example, say I was playing in F# Phrygian hexatonically like this:

G-----------------------------5-7-9-|