Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
New to the site. Just came across a vintage Ibanez RG550. The serial number checks out as an '88 or an '89. The bridge pickup is stated as non-original, so no problem there.

A couple issues

A) Look at the images of this neck. It's smooth and no issues to the finish, but this discolored circular mark that runs down toward the fretboard looks a heck of a lot like a break and repair job. Can you guys confirm this for me? I'm no expert. It's a good repair if its repaired, but that's not how it was described.

B) The serial number is attached as a decal--the others from this era were all stamped to my knowledge. Was this sticker removed and replaced from another guitar in your opinions? Maybe a Roadstar series. Or could this be the original headstock?

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
559 Posts
Serial is 1987, neck is standard scarf joint. I see nothing out of the ordinary and what would be expected here.

·
Registered
9,336 Posts
There's no signs of a break, and that is a scarf joint, the way the Wizard necks were constructed for many years. Decal is normal too.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What is off about the color? You mean the color of the neck or the red of the guitar itself? I've definitely seen some period RG550s in this exact shade of red on Reverb, etc.

The neck looks nice without repairs, the only thing that bugs me is the color.

·
Registered
276 Posts
What is off about the color? You mean the color of the neck or the red of the guitar itself? I've definitely seen some period RG550s in this exact shade of red on Reverb, etc.
I can be wrong but the body color seems to be lipstick red wich is great but they were made in 1991/92. The guitar serial is from late 80's, in that period
you have Road Flare and Five Alarm Red but they look more orange than red.
I would get it anyway, lovely guitar in great condition :D

·
Registered
5 Posts