Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys.. I have to tell you, I'd been playing with this Tech 21 Tri Od, and just Friday night my brother who also has one, and has a PRS 1001 Ten Top and I jammed thru a big set of cabs with power amps and I can't tell you how TUBE like these things sound.. They have a Fender Tweed, British and Cali settings, and I mean they are so close it's now become my favorite piece of equipment besides the guitar.. As a matter of fact, the same day I had played a Crate Tube V 30 watt head into a small cab and it did NOT sound any better to me than this little pedal except for the clean..BUT, I didn't get to crank it to get the power tube distortion going, or I'm sure it probably would have, but to even get close to me is amazing! .. I know it's hard to believe, but I've been playing the guitar for 28 years now on and off and I'm telling you I think I know tone! This thing rocks! I'm going to buy as many as I can to insure I have enough to last! hehe.. I make no money from Tech 21, and don't get any special favors, etc.. I just wanted to let some of you guys in on the big secret if you're like me and were looking for a way to jam without carrying three tube amps around to get three different sounds.. The nice thing about this Tri Od is that you get the Mesa sound, The Marshall sound and the Fender clean all in one box.. The only down side is that the EQ is the same for all three, but believe it or not, it still has it's own character.. You'll just have to try one.. Make sure if you do, that you run it directly into a powered PA or thru the effects loop of your amp to by pass the pre amp stage of your amp.. A solid state amp with a huge cab in this way rocks, but the PA with horns, and huge speakers with ton's of head room is the best!
Hope someone gets some enjoyment out of the thing besides me! hehe..
Tim

·
Registered
88 Posts
Thanks for the info.