Ibanez JEM Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im gonna try and set up my jem to play .12s tuned to drop C. this is my first floyd rose and i imagine drop C tuning and .12s is gonna be a radical change to my guitar so any advice would be greatly appreciated. should i just take it to a guitar tech?

·
Registered
260 Posts
Well I'm not that good at these things but when I tuned down my JEM to learn Bad Horsie the trem went into the body alot! But then you got 12's and I had 9's so that should bring it back up to about the same as standard with 9's? Just try it out and then move the springs if the trem angle is wrong.

·
Registered
522 Posts
Hey!
I use my Jem in Drop C, with the d'addario's 10- 52 set, where I switch the 52 string with a 56, and it feels and sounds great. Some dealers will make you a set of single strings if you aske them, so you won't have a spare 52 string every time you change strings.

regards
Tony

·
Banned
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
tony777 said:
Hey!
I use my Jem in Drop C, with the d'addario's 10- 52 set, where I switch the 52 string with a 56, and it feels and sounds great. Some dealers will make you a set of single strings if you aske them, so you won't have a spare 52 string every time you change strings.

regards
Tony
hey did you have to make many adjustments to the springs and intonation etc? or did the tension of the strings coupled with the fact they were tuned lower kind of cancel those issues out?

·
Registered
522 Posts
evolusean said:
hey did you have to make many adjustments to the springs and intonation etc? or did the tension of the strings coupled with the fact they were tuned lower kind of cancel those issues out?
Hey!

You'll have to adjust the springs when you're changing string gauges.
So, yes, you'll have to do the adjustments.