Ibanez JEM Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It’s kind of funny, be we spend so much time talking about our guitars, but so little discussing our amps. When I started playing in 1983, my first guitar was an Ibanez RS 100 and my amp was a Peavey Decade with an 8 inch speaker. Both the amp and the guitar were pretty awful.

About 6 months into my guitar playing journey, my Dad was listening outside my door while I was ripping a real easy Clapton solo, just playing with the record. My Dad came in and said “I guess your gonna need a better guitar.” Clapton was my Dad’s favorite. When Christmas rolled around I got my first quality electric guitar, an 82 Strat, and a Fender Dual Showman Reverb. I was in heaven.

Nobody at my school had equipment like that. That guitar and amp were all I used for the next 20 or so years. After 20 years I wore out the Strat, cracking the neck in four places and the amp was just not what I needed anymore. I got into Marshalls, Peavey VTM’s and Vox AC 30’s.

It seems funny now, that I used what I did for so long, but these days I am using Mesa/Boogie when playing out with other people. I have a Mesa/Boogie Mark V 25 that I use with a 12 inch, single speaker cab and a Mesa/Boogie F30 1x12 combo. When I got the Mesa’s,I traded in a Marshall Satriani head and 1960A cab. My back finally being the deciding factor in the quest to ditch the monstrous and heavy amps.

There is nothing like a good tube amp, but for practice at home I play through an Orange Crush 35 RT. I have never heard another SS amp that sounds as tube like as the Orange. I use it to save on tubes in the Mesa’s. I’ve also though of buy an Orange Crush CR120 2x12 combo for gigs. Again, Orange is the only solid state amp that I’ve ever liked the sound of. Great high gain amps.

What are you boys n girls using for amps these days? Here are a couple of pics of mine.
Musical instrument Audio equipment Bottle Gas Wood

My Mark V 25